The construction of the Abul-Kasym madrasah was carried out on the donations of the highly educated and respected townsman Sheikh Abulkasym. In 1850, the building was attached to the sanctuary, where since the 18th century a Muslim shrine was kept – the hair of Muhammad’s beard. Madrasah was built in the traditional oriental style of the XIX century. High two-story portal, on each side three and a half arched niches and turrets-guldast with turquoise domes.
Thanks to Abulkasym-echon it was possible to prevent the armed pacification of the cholera riot. He convinced the Turkestan Governor-General that ordinary people were not involved. The peace treaty concluded with the Russian Empire was concluded with the support of Abulkasym.
Approximately until 1974, the building served as a communal apartment for the Saratov Russians who fled the Holodomor. In 1966, after the Tashkent earthquake, the madrasah almost collapsed. He intended to demolish it. Fortunately, this sad part passed the monument. Restoration and restoration began in the 80s of the XX century.
Now the school of applied art of the Association of Artisans «Hunarmand» is functioning in the madrasah. Here they teach – carving on wood and ganch, traditional miniature, metal carving (called toreutics), embossing, embroidery and gold embroidery. All visitors can see the scrupulous work of craftsmen. At the Center of National Crafts there is a gift shop where you can buy any vending products.